Jim Zarroli http://wgcu.org en Citigroup Agrees To $7 Billion Fine For 'Egregious' Misconduct http://wgcu.org/post/citigroup-agrees-7-billion-fine-egregious-misconduct Citigroup has agreed to pay $7 billion to settle claims that it committed fraud when it sold mortgage-backed securities in the years leading up to the financial crisis. Most of the money will be paid to the U.S. Treasury, but some will be used to provide mortgage relief to struggling homeowners. Mon, 14 Jul 2014 20:15:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 12361 at http://wgcu.org With Default 23 Days Away, A Little Clause Could Cost Argentina Big http://wgcu.org/post/default-23-days-away-little-clause-could-cost-argentina-big Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>And I'm Melissa Block. The clock is ticking for Argentina. Yes, in the World Cup, but here, we're talking about its effort to prevent another debt crisis. Argentina has until the end of this month to pay its bondholders or it risks going into default. Tue, 08 Jul 2014 20:13:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 12151 at http://wgcu.org BNP Paribas Agrees To Nearly $9 Billion Fine And Admission Of Guilt http://wgcu.org/post/bnp-paribas-agrees-9-billion-fine-and-admission-guilt Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Banking giant BNP Paribas has agreed to pay American regulators nearly $9 billion dollars to settle charges of economic sanctions violations. It's the largest such fine ever imposed by the U.S. The bank will plead guilty to two criminal charges. It was accused of helping clients in Sudan, Cuba and Iran conduct business in the United States. NPR's Jim Zarroli reports.<p>JIM ZARROLI, BYLINE: The charges were brought after a lengthy investigation that involved the Justice Department, the Federal Reserve and banking regulators in New York state. Mon, 30 Jun 2014 22:20:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 11911 at http://wgcu.org U.S.-Foreign Mergers Raise Calls For Tax Reforms http://wgcu.org/post/us-foreign-mergers-raise-calls-tax-reforms This week the big medical device company Medtronic said it was moving its legal headquarters from Minneapolis to Ireland. It's part of a $43 billion merger with another medical company, Dublin-based Covidien.<p>The move is a tax-saving strategy called an inversion and it's growing more common in the corporate world.<p>U.S. Fri, 20 Jun 2014 20:57:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 11573 at http://wgcu.org U.S.-Foreign Mergers Raise Calls For Tax Reforms Lightning-Fast Trades Go Beneath The Congressional Microscope http://wgcu.org/post/lightning-fast-trades-go-beneath-congressional-microscope The Senate Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations is holding a hearing on problems in the financial markets caused by high-frequency trading firms. Tue, 17 Jun 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 11442 at http://wgcu.org AT&T And DirecTV Mega-Merger Spells Changes For Media Landscape http://wgcu.org/post/att-and-directv-mega-merger-spells-changes-media-landscape Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>Federal regulators are facing a decision on whether to allow another big media merger. This time, it's AT&T and DirecTV. Yesterday, the board of AT&T voted to acquire the satellite television company in a deal worth almost $50 billion. NPR's Jim Zarroli reports that the hope is to be a stronger competitor against the likes of Verizon and Comcast.<p>JIM ZARROLI, BYLINE: Like other big media companies, AT&T has been desperately trying to tell the future of the media business and get ready for it. Mon, 19 May 2014 20:16:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 10493 at http://wgcu.org Crowdfunding Can Help Build Business, But At What Cost? http://wgcu.org/post/crowdfunding-can-help-build-business-what-cost Entrepreneur Andy Krafsur raised money for Spira Footwear by reaching out to friends and family. But that was a dozen years ago. After the economy tanked, the common tactic became a lot more difficult.<p>"The pool of people that you can go to has shrunken significantly," Krafsur says, "and everybody goes to those same people."<p>Then Krafsur found a crowdfunding website that helped his cash flow enormously. Fri, 09 May 2014 09:36:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 10146 at http://wgcu.org Crowdfunding Can Help Build Business, But At What Cost? Alibaba IPO Could Be The Biggest Ever http://wgcu.org/post/alibaba-ipo-could-be-biggest-ever Alibaba is the biggest e-commerce player in China. The Internet conglomerate is filing papers in the U.S. for what could be the biggest IPO ever. Tue, 06 May 2014 21:34:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 10066 at http://wgcu.org After Bangladesh Factory Disaster, Efforts Show Mixed Progress http://wgcu.org/post/after-bangladesh-factory-disaster-efforts-show-mixed-progress One year ago Thursday, an eight-story factory building in the Bangladesh capital of Dhaka collapsed, killing more than 1,100 workers. The disaster at Rana Plaza brought new attention to safety conditions in the country's booming garment industry.<p>In the year since then, some of the world's biggest retailers have begun inspecting Bangladesh's factories more aggressively. But in other ways efforts to reform the industry have fallen short.<p>When sewing machine operator Aklima Khanam arrived at Rana Plaza on April 24, 2013, some of her coworkers were milling around outside. Thu, 24 Apr 2014 07:37:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 9637 at http://wgcu.org After Bangladesh Factory Disaster, Efforts Show Mixed Progress Sending Money On An Overseas Round Trip To Avoid Taxes http://wgcu.org/post/taking-money-overseas-round-trip-avoid-taxes Some investors avoid paying taxes in a move called round-tripping — sending money offshore, then investing it in U.S. stocks or bonds. A study estimates it costs the U.S. billions in lost revenues.<p>Recently, MIT professor Michelle Hanlon and two colleagues set out to find out all they could about round-tripping.<p>"I think it's a big problem in the U.S. tax system that individuals can evade taxes and that they try to do so offshore," Hanlon says. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:56:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 9347 at http://wgcu.org Sending Money On An Overseas Round Trip To Avoid Taxes With Proposed Mega-Merger On The Hill, Spotlight's On Consumers http://wgcu.org/post/proposed-mega-merger-hill-spotlights-consumers Comcast and Time Warner executives ran into stiff opposition as they pitched their proposed merger to the Senate Judiciary Committee. The deal would give the combined company a large share of both pay TV and broadband internet service markets. In both cases, lawmakers wanted to know how consumers would be affected. Wed, 09 Apr 2014 20:08:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 9145 at http://wgcu.org New Rules Force Big Banks To Keep A Bigger Cushion http://wgcu.org/post/new-rules-force-big-banks-keep-bigger-cushion Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>Five and a half years after the financial crisis that devastated the global economy, U.S. officials are taking steps to strengthen the nation's banking system. Today, the Federal Reserve and the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation approved tough new rules that require banks to hold a lot more capital on their books. Tue, 08 Apr 2014 20:33:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 9103 at http://wgcu.org Traders Defend High-Speed Systems Against Charges Of Rigging http://wgcu.org/post/traders-defend-high-speed-systems-against-charges-rigging The FBI and the Securities and Exchange Commission revealed this week that they're both investigating the world of high-frequency stock trading. They did so at a time when a new book on the subject, <em>Flash Boys</em> by Michael Lewis, is causing an uproar on Wall Street.<p>To read Lewis' book is to be reminded of how drastically the stock market has changed in a decade — and how opaque it remains. Lewis says this opacity serves to cover up some disturbing developments.<p>"The stock market is rigged. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 21:53:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 8933 at http://wgcu.org Traders Defend High-Speed Systems Against Charges Of Rigging American-Made, Haven-Kept? Congress Looks At Caterpillar's Tax Returns http://wgcu.org/post/american-made-haven-kept-congress-looks-caterpillars-tax-returns Caterpillar executives are on Capitol Hill answering questions about the company's tax returns. Caterpillar is accused of shifting money abroad to avoid billions in taxes. Company officials say Caterpillar has followed the law. <div class="fullattribution">Copyright 2014 NPR. Tue, 01 Apr 2014 20:30:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 8889 at http://wgcu.org Russia's Energy Market Heft Leaves Neighbors Unsettled http://wgcu.org/post/russias-energy-market-heft-leaves-neighbors-unsettled Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>The crisis in Ukraine is raising new questions about Russia's role in the energy markets. Moscow has long used exports of oil and natural gas to win political concessions from countries on its borders. Europe gets a quarter of its natural gas from Russia.<p>As NPR's Jim Zarroli reports, that's making a lot of people there nervous.<p>JIM ZARROLI, BYLINE: Russia's oil and gas supplies are a huge part of what keeps its economy going. Fri, 28 Mar 2014 21:10:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 8762 at http://wgcu.org Madoff Aides Found Guilty For Role In Massive Ponzi Scheme http://wgcu.org/post/madoff-aides-found-guilty-role-massive-ponzi-scheme Five of Bernie Madoff's former employees were found guilty of helping him fleece investors of $17 billion. They were convicted on charges of securities fraud, conspiracy and tax evasion. Mon, 24 Mar 2014 21:00:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 8604 at http://wgcu.org FTC Investigates Herbalife, Following Claims It's A Pyramid Scheme http://wgcu.org/post/ftc-investigates-herbalife-following-claims-its-pyramid-scheme Herbalife shares dropped on news the Federal Trade Commission is investigating the company. After shorting Herbalife's stock, hedge fund manager Bill Ackman's been lobbying politicians to investigate. Wed, 12 Mar 2014 21:01:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 8198 at http://wgcu.org Swiss Bank Finds Itself Under American Scrutiny http://wgcu.org/post/swiss-bank-finds-itself-under-american-scrutiny Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>Top executives at one of Switzerland's biggest banks said today they're sincerely trying to prevent tax evasion by U.S. citizens. They also said conflicting laws in the two countries make it almost impossible to do that. Wed, 26 Feb 2014 21:03:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 7759 at http://wgcu.org Netflix Pays Comcast To Ensure Its Videos Stream Smoothly http://wgcu.org/post/netflix-pays-comcast-ensure-its-videos-stream-smoothly Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>Netflix is hoping that a deal it has struck with Comcast will mollify some of its unhappy customers. The company announced yesterday that it will pay to connect Comcast's broadband network more directly. That means Netflix customers should get faster, smoother access to programs like "House of Cards." The deal could serve as a model to help the company resolve disputes with other big Internet service providers.<p>NPR's Jim Zarroli reports.<p>JIM ZARROLI, BYLINE: With its popular video streaming service, Netflix has been growing at a dizzying speed. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 21:34:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 7687 at http://wgcu.org Senate Steps Into The Data Breach Controversy http://wgcu.org/post/senate-steps-data-breach-controversy Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>A top executive at the retail chain Target went to Capitol Hill today to try to explain the massive security breach that hit the company in December. Hackers stole personal information of tens of millions of Target customers during the holiday shopping season. The incident has underscored the increasing sophistication of cyber criminals and the vulnerability of big retailers. Tue, 04 Feb 2014 23:00:00 +0000 Jim Zarroli 7031 at http://wgcu.org