Neda Ulaby http://wgcu.org en For These Vegans, Masculinity Means Protecting The Planet http://wgcu.org/post/these-vegans-masculinity-means-protecting-planet Real men eat meat. They kill it and then they grill it.<p>That's the stereotype, or cliche, that's about as old as time.<p>At a recent barbecue in Brooklyn, N.Y., a half-dozen guys who resist that particular cultural stereotype gathered together. Many of them are muscled semi-professional athletes, including triathlete Dominic Thompson, competitive bodybuilder Giacomo Marchese and mixed martial arts fighter Cornell Ward.<p>They're also all vegans and eschew all animal products. Mon, 21 Jul 2014 20:58:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 12590 at http://wgcu.org For These Vegans, Masculinity Means Protecting The Planet NSA Coverage Garners Pulitzers For Post And Guardian http://wgcu.org/post/nsa-coverage-garners-pulitzers-post-and-guardian Winners of the 2014 Pulitzer Prizes were announced Monday. The Washington Post and The Guardian were among the notable winners, commended for together breaking the news of NSA surveillance programs. Mon, 14 Apr 2014 21:37:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 9312 at http://wgcu.org A Picket Line At The Oscars: Visual-Effects Artists To Protest http://wgcu.org/post/picket-line-oscars-visual-effects-artists-protest Hundreds of visual-effects artists are planning to picket the Academy Awards on Sunday for the second year in a row. They're hoping to bring attention to what's been happening in their industry.<p>The field is losing jobs and relocating to countries with bigger subsidies for employers. It's the result of a technical revolution that's changed the profession since it kicked off in the 70s with Star Wars creator George Lucas' visual-effects company, Industrial Light and Magic.<p>At first, visual effects was mostly engineers creating special effects with cameras, high-speed motors and models. Sat, 01 Mar 2014 14:50:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 7844 at http://wgcu.org Amiri Baraka's Legacy Both Controversial And Achingly Beautiful http://wgcu.org/post/amiri-baraka-poet-and-co-founder-black-arts-movement-dies-79 One of America's most important — and controversial — literary figures, Amiri Baraka, died on Thursday from complications after surgery following a long illness, according to his oldest son. Baraka was 79.<p>Baraka co-founded the Black Arts Movement of the 1960s. His literary legacy is as complicated as the times he lived through, from his childhood — where he recalled not being allowed to enter a segregated library — to the 2001 attack on the World Trade Center. Thu, 09 Jan 2014 22:14:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 6198 at http://wgcu.org Amiri Baraka's Legacy Both Controversial And Achingly Beautiful Hollywood's New Strategy: Supporting Chinese-Made Blockbusters http://wgcu.org/post/hollywoods-new-strategy-supporting-chinese-made-blockbusters <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UqZb1bUKJQ0</p> Mon, 25 Nov 2013 07:55:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 4848 at http://wgcu.org Hollywood's New Strategy: Supporting Chinese-Made Blockbusters Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies http://wgcu.org/post/lou-reed-beloved-contrarian-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ffr0opfm6I4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0KaWSOlASWc</p> Sun, 27 Oct 2013 19:47:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 3901 at http://wgcu.org Lou Reed, Beloved Contrarian, Dies For You To Borrow, Some Libraries Have To Go Begging http://wgcu.org/post/you-borrow-some-libraries-have-go-begging More than 90 percent of Americans say public libraries are important to their communities, according to the Pew Research Center. But the way that love translates into actual financial support varies hugely from state to state.<p>Vermont, for instance, brags that it has more libraries per capita than any other U.S. state. Some of them are remarkably quaint. In Ludlow, one library is a white clapboard Victorian, slightly frayed, ringed by lilies and sitting by the side of a brook.<p>"It's very small," says Julia Baldwin, a volunteer with the local Ladies' Aid society. Mon, 19 Aug 2013 07:07:00 +0000 Neda Ulaby 1603 at http://wgcu.org For You To Borrow, Some Libraries Have To Go Begging