Scott Horsley http://wgcu.org en Following Enrollment Deadline, Health Care Focus Turns To States http://wgcu.org/post/following-enrollment-deadline-health-care-focus-turns-states President Obama met Thursday with insurance company executives and a separate group of insurance regulators from the states, discussing their mutual interest in administering the new health care law. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 20:23:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 9418 at http://wgcu.org Obama's Tax Rate Rose — And He Can't Blame Anyone But Himself http://wgcu.org/post/obamas-tax-rate-rose-and-he-cant-blame-anyone-himself President Obama, like many wealthy Americans, is paying more of his income to the IRS.<p>The White House <a href="http://www.whitehouse.gov/blog/2014/04/11/president-obama-and-vice-president-biden-s-2013-tax-returns">released the president's tax return</a> last week. It shows he and the first lady paid $98,169 in taxes for 2013 on income of $481,098. That's an effective tax rate of 20.4 percent.<p>In 2012, the Obamas paid just 18.4 percent of their income in taxes. Tue, 15 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 9343 at http://wgcu.org Obama's Tax Rate Rose — And He Can't Blame Anyone But Himself As Sebelius Steps Down, Obama Taps Budget Director To Replace Her http://wgcu.org/post/sebelius-steps-down-obama-taps-budget-director-replace-her Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Melissa Block.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish. Health and Human Services Secretary Kathleen Sebelius got a fond farewell today from President Obama. She's resigning after a rocky tenure marred by the botched rollout of the government's health insurance exchange last fall. The president's tapping his budget director, Sylvia Mathews Burwell, to replace Sebelius. Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:30:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 9231 at http://wgcu.org Sebelius, Leader Of Rocky Health Care Rollout, Resigns From HHS http://wgcu.org/post/sebelius-leader-rocky-health-care-rollout-resigns-hhs Kathleen Sebelius has resigned from her position as secretary of health and human services. President Obama accepted her resignation, and he plans to nominate Sylvia Matthews Burwell to replace her. Thu, 10 Apr 2014 23:09:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 9201 at http://wgcu.org With Enrollee Goal Met, Obamacare Still Faces Political Trial http://wgcu.org/post/enrollee-goal-met-obamacare-still-faces-political-test President Obama and his supporters had a rare opportunity to celebrate this week.<p>A last-minute surge in people signing up for health insurance sent the total government enrollment figures over the seven-million mark.<p>That number seemed out of reach just a few months ago, when a crash-prone website threatened to undermine the president's signature health care law.<p>Republicans are still bent on repealing the law, but now millions more Americans have a stake in Obamacare's survival.<p>On Tuesday, the president marked the comeback. Sat, 05 Apr 2014 16:26:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 9015 at http://wgcu.org With Enrollee Goal Met, Obamacare Still Faces Political Trial In Arkansas, Voters May Get Chance To Raise Minimum Wage http://wgcu.org/post/arkansas-voters-may-get-chance-raise-minimum-wage President Obama travels to Michigan Wednesday to tout his proposal to boost the minimum wage.<p>Raising the wage to $10.10 an hour is one of the top agenda items for Obama and his fellow Democrats during this mid-term election year. The White House says the move would put more money in the pockets of some 28 million workers.<p>One test of that strategy will be in Arkansas, where proponents are trying to put a minimum wage increase on the ballot in November. Wed, 02 Apr 2014 07:54:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 8904 at http://wgcu.org In Arkansas, Voters May Get Chance To Raise Minimum Wage Cause For Hope And Frustration In the Shadow Of ACA Deadline http://wgcu.org/post/cause-hope-and-frustration-shadow-aca-deadline As the Affordable Care Act's midnight deadline draws near, there has been a surge in last-minute signups. The heavy traffic has caused both glitches in the website and optimism from some forecasters. Mon, 31 Mar 2014 20:37:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 8842 at http://wgcu.org Obama Ratchets Up Sanctions Against Putin's Personal Allies http://wgcu.org/post/obama-ratchets-sanctions-against-putins-personal-allies Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>The Ukrainian government ordered its border guards to withdraw from Crimea today. Pro-Russian forces there seized more Ukrainian property, including at least two warships. We have more details on those events elsewhere in the program.<p>Meantime, in Moscow today, the foreign minister complained that ethnic Russians outside Crimea and eastern Ukraine are having their rights violated. Thu, 20 Mar 2014 20:36:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 8473 at http://wgcu.org A Bittersweet Goodbye: White House Pastry Chef To Move On http://wgcu.org/post/bittersweet-goodbye-white-house-pastry-chef-move The first family must be crust fallen.<p>Bill Yosses, the White House pastry chef, is moving to New York in June.<p>"Though I am incredibly sad to see Bill Yosses go, I am also so grateful to him for his outstanding work," first lady Michelle Obama said in a statement. Tue, 18 Mar 2014 23:19:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 8406 at http://wgcu.org A Bittersweet Goodbye: White House Pastry Chef To Move On With Sanctions, Obama Aims For Those Close To Putin http://wgcu.org/post/sanctions-obama-aims-those-close-putin The Obama administration is ordering new sanctions against 11 Russian and Ukrainian officials. The move is designed to penalize Russia for efforts to split Crimea away from Ukraine. Mon, 17 Mar 2014 20:20:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 8355 at http://wgcu.org After Record Deportations, Obama May Turn To More 'Humane' Options http://wgcu.org/post/after-record-deportations-obama-may-turn-more-humane-options The White House announced the president is willing to review his stance on deportations, a policy that's drawn objection from Hispanics and other groups the president depends on politically. Fri, 14 Mar 2014 20:06:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 8264 at http://wgcu.org Obama Lays Groundwork For Sanctions Against Russia http://wgcu.org/post/obama-lays-groundwork-sanctions-against-russia With an executive order Thursday, President Obama authorized sanctions on Russia for its involvement in Ukraine. Speaker Boehner praised the sanctions and offered congressional support going forward. Thu, 06 Mar 2014 21:16:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 8000 at http://wgcu.org In Drafting A Presidential Budget, Cost May Outweigh Benefit http://wgcu.org/post/drafting-presidential-budget-cost-may-outweigh-benefit On Tuesday, President Obama will unveil his budget proposal for the coming year. But for all the sound and fury surrounding the president's spending plan, it's likely to have very little significance. Congress routinely ignores the president's budget. And lawmakers have already settled on overall spending levels for the coming year.<p>That's led some to ask whether it's time to bring the curtain down on this annual exercise in political theater.<p>Members of Congress act as if they're eager to see the president's budget, and impatient when it's overdue. Sun, 02 Mar 2014 11:01:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 7850 at http://wgcu.org In Drafting A Presidential Budget, Cost May Outweigh Benefit After More Than A Year, Obama And Boehner Sit Down Just To Talk http://wgcu.org/post/after-more-year-obama-and-boehner-sit-down-just-talk Transcript <p>MELISSA BLOCK, HOST: <p>This is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED from NPR News. I'm Melissa Block.<p>It's a sign of deeply partisan times when a Democratic president and a Republican House speaker make headlines just by sitting down and talking to each other. That's what happened today in a rare hour-long meeting that aides call constructive. How constructive is not exactly clear. And while the president and House speaker agreed to work together in areas where there's common ground, that appears to be very small territory.<p>NPR White House correspondent Scott Horsley joins me now. Tue, 25 Feb 2014 21:05:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 7723 at http://wgcu.org Obama And Democratic Governors Agree: Raise Minimum Wage http://wgcu.org/post/obama-and-democratic-governors-agree-raise-minimum-wage President Obama met Friday with more than a dozen Democratic governors at the White House. They emerged from the meeting declaring their united support for a higher national minimum wage. Fri, 21 Feb 2014 21:05:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 7606 at http://wgcu.org 'Three Amigos' Talk Trade In Mexico http://wgcu.org/post/three-amigos-talk-trade-mexico Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>President Obama is in Mexico today, for a one-day summit meeting with his fellow North American leaders. Trade tops the agenda. And President Obama signed an executive order today designed to speed up cross-border commerce. But the president's broader trade agenda appears to be slowing in the face of stiff congressional opposition.<p>NPR's Scott Horsley joins us now. Wed, 19 Feb 2014 21:43:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 7518 at http://wgcu.org CBO Predicts Job Losses From Minimum Wage Hike http://wgcu.org/post/cbo-predicts-job-losses-minimum-wage-hike Transcript <p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Robert Siegel.<p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>And I'm Audie Cornish.<p>A new report out this afternoon poured some gasoline on the already raging debate over whether to raise the minimum wage. The report from the Congressional Budget Office says boosting the federal minimum to $10.10 an hour, as President Obama has proposed, would lift 900,000 people out of poverty. Tue, 18 Feb 2014 21:12:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 7487 at http://wgcu.org Seahawks, Broncos Fans Mingle In D.C. Watering Hole http://wgcu.org/post/seahawks-broncos-fans-mingle-dc-watering-hole Transcript <p>(SOUNDBITE OF MUSIC)<p>RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: <p>In living rooms and sports bars across the country later today, football fans -and yes, just those of us who want to watch the budget commercial and dig into nachos - will sit down to watch the Super Bowl. In Denver and Seattle living rooms, there will be less casual viewing, of course, and that goes for anywhere else that fans of the Broncos and Seahawks gather.<p>NPR's White House correspondent Scott Horsley has been spending time in one of such watering hole here in Washington, D.C. Sun, 02 Feb 2014 14:01:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 6948 at http://wgcu.org Obama Pushes Employers To Consider The Long-Term Jobless http://wgcu.org/post/obama-pushes-employers-consider-long-term-jobless Transcript <p>SCOTT SIMON, HOST: <p>This is WEEKEND EDITION from NPR News. I'm Scott Simon. The U.S. Labor Department says there are nearly four million people in America who've been unemployed for six months or more. That number has remained stubbornly high, even as the overall unemployment rate has fallen. Yesterday, President Obama met with U.S. Sat, 01 Feb 2014 15:03:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 6929 at http://wgcu.org Obama Seeks Minimum Wage Hike With Mic And Pen http://wgcu.org/post/obama-seeks-minimum-wage-hike-mic-and-pen Transcript <p>AUDIE CORNISH, HOST: <p>From NPR News, this is ALL THINGS CONSIDERED. I'm Audie Cornish.<p>ROBERT SIEGEL, HOST: <p>And I'm Robert Siegel.<p>In his State of the Union address tonight, President Obama is expected to renew his call for Congress to raise the federal minimum wage. If he's successful, that would eventually boost the paychecks of some 27 million people. In the meantime, the president will announce that he's taking immediate action to help a small fraction of those low-wage workers, the ones employed by federal contractors. Tue, 28 Jan 2014 22:08:00 +0000 Scott Horsley 6797 at http://wgcu.org