Holiday shows dot the WGCU PBS calendar

The choirs of the Bower School of Music at FGCU presented the school’s annual holiday concert, “Joyful & Triumphant,” in late November at Moorings Presbyterian Church in Naples. WGCU recorded the event and will show the concert Wednesday, Dec. 21 at 10 p.m. and Saturday, Dec. 24 at 6 p.m. on WGCU PBS. On Christmas Day at 8 p.m., tune in to WGCU FM to hear the audio recording.

About 160 student musicians in four choirs and the symphony orchestra are featured this year, said conductor Trent Brown, artistic director for the annual show and a professor of music at FGCU. New this year is the premiere of Cantabile, the school’s tenor/bass choir.

Selections include traditional holiday carols, as well as music of Vaughan Williams, Holst, Bach, spirituals, folk songs, and more.

“It is always a highlight when ALL musicians are on stage performing as one giant ensemble, and when the choirs surround the audience to wrap in sound,” Brown said.

Plenty of holiday cheer, traditional and otherwise, can be found on this month’s schedule.

Among the more traditional:

Friday Dec. 16 at 5:30 p.m.: America’s Forests with Chuck Leavell: Us Capitol Christmas Tree

Saturday Dec. 17 at 8 p.m.: America’s Test Kitchen Special: Home for the Holidays

Thursday, Dec. 15 at 10 p.m.: Tuesday, Dec. 20 at 9 p.m. and Sunday, Dec. 25 at 5 p.m.: O Holy Night: Christmas with the Tabernacle Choir

Sunday, Dec. 18 at 3 p.m.: Great Performances: Fiddler – A Miracle of Miracles

Monday, Dec. 19 at 9 p.m.: Merry Berry’s Ultimate Christmas

Wednesday, Dec. 21 at 4 p.m.: Rick Steves European Christmas

Thursday, Dec. 22 at 10 p.m.: 20 Years of Christmas with the Tabernacle Choir

Saturday, Dec. 31 at 9:30 p.m.: United in Song 2022: Ringing in the New Year Together

And among the less traditional:

Sunday, Dec. 11 at 10 p.m.: Inside the Vatican

Monday, Dec. 12 at 9 p.m.: Life on the Line: Unse

  Share: